University of Wisconsin - Madison


Membership Committee

The Membership Committee seeks to maximize membership in the Association. Its efforts focus primarily on gaining members from the most recent retirees and also on encouraging renewals. The board currently offers new retirees a complimentary subscription to The Sifter as well as certain privileges offered to members, including registering for and attending most Association activities and events, for six months following their retirement.

Co-chairs: Bob Dye (bobdye at charter.net)  

Members: Mary Czynszak-Lyne (czynszaklyne at gmail.com), Rick Daluge (rhdaluge at wisc.edu), J J Hanson (jjhanso2 at wisc.edu), Gary Johnson (47ltret at gmail.com), Steve Lund (srl526 at yahoo.com), Gary Mitchell (gdmitche at wisc.edu), Rob Seltzer (raseltzer at em.wisc.edu), Bill Steffenhagen (wsteffen at wisc.edu), Jim Stratton (jgstratt at wisc.edu), Ann Wallace (ann.wallace at wisc.edu), UWRA Executive Director, ex officio (retireassn at mailplus.wisc.edu)

Meeting Times*: As needed-no set day  

Luncheon Committee

The Luncheon Committee organizes several luncheons each year, highlighted by a speaker from either the university or the Madison community, and typically preceded by a morning program. The committee presents four luncheons each year, two in the fall, one in the winter, and one in the spring timed to coincide with the annual meeting.

Chair: Ruthi Duval (ruthiduval at gmail.com)

Members: Darrell Barth (), Pat Hendrickson (phenriks at wisc.edu), Sarah Potts (swpotts at uwalumni.com), Chris Schindler (cschindl at wisc.edu), Joel Skornicka (skornicka1802 at gmail.com), Barb Wiley (bpwiley at wisc.edu), UWRA Executive Director, ex officio (retireassn at mailplus.wisc.edu)

Meeting Times*: Usually 1-2 per year 

Committee on Financial Matters in Retirement  (CFMR)

The Financial Matters Committee offers a monthly program, September through May. The scope of its agenda is indicated by its title.

Co-chairs:   Jerry Kulcinski (glkulcin at wisc.edu) and Jack Sorenson (jwsoren1 at gmail.com)

Members: Kathy Christoph (Kathy.christoph at gmail.com), Ted Collins (tedcollins69 at gmail.com)Rick Daluge (rhdaluge at wisc.edu), Bob Dye (bobdye at charter.net), Marian Fischer (mrfisher at wisc.edu), Joan Gillman (jgillman at wisc.edu), Sandi Haase (sandi.haase at wisc.edu), Karen Holden (kcholden at wisc.edu), Kath Irwin (kirwin at wisc.edu), Faisal Kaud (fakaud at wisc.edu), Don Miner (dlminer655 at gmail.com), Jurgen Patau (jrpatau at wisc.edu), Paul Reichel (preichel at wisc.edu), Kay Reuter-Krohn (kreuterkrohn at gmail.com), Karen Stauffacher (karen.stauffacher at gmail.com), Millard Susman (msusman at wisc.edu), Kathy Zweifel (kazweife at wisc.edu), UWRA Executive Director, ex officio (retireassn at mailplus.wisc.edu)

Meeting Times*: 1st Friday  of the Month at 10AM; Location: UW Credit Union, 3500 University Ave.

Retirement Challenges and Opportunities Committee (RCOC)

The Retirement Challenges and Opportunities Committee offers programs and opportunities to help UWRA members live a rewarding retirement.  These can include, but are not limited to:  social outings, local tours, travelogues, talks on current or historical information of interest, cooking and nutrition activities, programs on health and aging and the challenges and opportunities for living life in retirement - all the while making new friends and having fun!

Co-chairs:  Jeanne Stublaski (lsnjas at gmail.com) and Pat Carol (patricia.carol at wisc.edu)

Members:   Susan Fischer (sfischer at uwalumni.com), Bob Jokisch (bobjokisch at gmail.com), Faisal Kaud (fakaud at wisc.edu),  Mary Metz (marymetz at chartermi.net), Michele Mickelson (mmickelson at charter.net), Gary Mitchell (gdmitche at wisc.edu), Mary Beth Plane (marybethplane at yahoo.com), Sarah Potts (swpotts at uwalumni.com),  Jim Stratton (jgstratt at wisc.edu),   Millard Susman (msusman at wisc.edu),  UWRA Executive Director, ex officio (retireassn at mailplus.wisc.edu) 

Meeting Times*: 4th Monday of the Month at 1PM; Location: UW Credit Union, 3500 University Ave.

Travel Committee

The Travel Committee typically organizes one-day travel opportunities leaving by bus from Madison. Destinations are usually historical, educational, and interesting sites. Prices include transportation, admission fees, gratuities, and lunch. The committee welcomes suggestions for trips from the membership.

Co-chairs: Peggy Daluge (ricknpeg at dalugetravel.com) and  Esther Olson (emolson2 at wisc.edu)

Members: Sue Adams (sjadams2 at wisc.edu), Ted Collins (tcollins at charter.net), Gail Holmes (glholmes at wisc.edu), Al Liegel (arliegel at wisc.edu), Colleen McCabe (cmcabe at wisc.edu), UWRA Executive Director, ex officio  (retireassn at mailplus.wisc.edu)

Meeting Times*: As needed-no set day 

Audit Committee

The Auditors Committee consists of a small number of experienced UW-Madison administrators called on by the executive director to audit the treasurer’s books annually and to offer advice concerning the fiscal management of the Association.

Co-chairs: Jerry Lange ( eejlange at gmail.com), Mareda Weiss (mareda at charter.net)

Committee on Partnership and Engagement (CPE)

Committee on Partnership and Engagement (CPE) shall promote, maintain and encourage relationships with other organization, e.g., Wisconsin Foundation and Alumni Association (WFAA), communities, State of Wisconsin, UW-Madison and potentially other Big 10 Retirement Associations (primarily neighboring states).  Continue our connection with the Madison Metropolitan School District, and Dane County food pantries.  Coordinate UWRA members’ collective and individual strengths with UW-Madison to support the University’s mission (Wisconsin Idea) and potential engagement opportunities.  Serve as the “primary connector” for projects and initiatives. (Created September 2018). 

Co-chairs:  Chuck Read (wcread at wisc.edu) and John Dowling (jcd6503 at yahoo.com)

Members: Mary Czynszak-Lyne  (czynszaklyne at gmail.com, Dale Burke (dgburke at wisc.edu), Diane Kravetz (dkravitz at wisc.edu),  Jim Stratton (jgstratt at wisc.edu), Bill Richner (bjrichner at charter.net), UWRA Executive Director, ex officio (retireassn at mailplus.wisc.edu)

Meeting Times*: As needed-no set day 


Budget Committee

The Budget Committee is charged with developing an operating budget for the following year based on a draft created by the treasurer.  The budget shall be drafted, discussed and approved by the board in sufficient time to be considered by the membership at the Association’s annual meeting. 

Chair: UWRA Treasurer

Members: UWRA President, UWRA Past President, UWRA President-elect, UWRA Executive Director, Other association members as needed 

Electronic Technology Committee

The Electronic Technology Committee assists Association members to stay abreast of changing electronic technology, which may include devices such as computers and tablets, telephones, cameras, and printers, and software applications like library software, social networking, and Skype.

Co-chairs: Kathy Christoph (kathy at wisc.edu) and Louise Robbins (louise_robby at sbcglobal.net)

Members: Rachel Baker (rachel.baker at wisc.edu), Judy Craig (jscraig at wisc.edu), Paul DeLuca (paul.deluca at wisc,.edu), Carol Graham (cgraham at wisc.edu), John Helgeson (jphelges at wisc.edu), Orv Jordahl (ojordahl at gmail.com), Diane Kravetz (dkravetz at wisc.edu), Paul Reichel (preichel at wisc.edu), Tom Stevens (mariantom at sbcglobal.net), Millard Susman (msusman at wisc.edu), Ann Wallace (ann.wallace at wisc.edu), UWRA Executive Director, ex officio  (retireassn at mailplus.wisc.edu)

Meeting Times*: 4th Thursday of the Month at 1PM; Location: Oakwood Village - University Woods

Business Office and Operations Team (BOOT)

Assists UWRA Executive Director in website development, maintenance and content management including but not limited to committee calendars, programs, event information and other website-related office operations.

Team Lead:  UWRA Executive Director

Team Members:  Susan Adams, Barbara Rust, Larry Winkler, Beth Zemp

Audit Advisor:  Jerry Lange

Meeting Times*:  As needed, currently weekly

Campus Committee - Retirement Issues Committee (Chapter 6)

Reviews and makes recommendations on university services relating to retirees; reviews and makes recommendations on services relating to retirement planning.

The five UWRA officers (President, President-Elect, Secretary, Treasurer and Immediate Past President) are committee members.

* COMMITTEES MEET SEPTEMBER THROUGH JUNE  (ACADEMIC YEAR) 


Feedback, questions, website problems - contact us at:   retireassn@mailplus.wisc.edu. 

Copyright © UWRA  2018. All rights reserved.

For More Information Contact UWRA

Sandi Haase, Executive Director

UW-Madison Retirement Association

21 North Park Street, Room 7205

Madison, WI 53715-1218

608-262-0641


Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software